UNION SCHOOL ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP FOUNDATION (U.S.A.S.F.)

Mission Statement of the U.S.A.S.F.

The goal of the Union School Association Scholarship Foundation, as part of the Union School Association, is to help provide access to higher education for Union students. As part of this mission, the USASF raises funds for student aid distribution and distributes awards on a fair and non-discriminatory basis.

Board Members

Patricia Geissler - President
Jacquelyn Friedrich - Vice President/Secretary
Heather Matthews - Treasurer
Cynthia Braithwaite
Cheryl Cyr
Jane Denault
Andrea Estell
Kevin Scanlon
Ellen Silbermann

In 1994 The Union School Association formed a scholarship fund to assist Union School graduates in furthering their education. Scholarships are awarded annually to graduating high school seniors who are pursuing post-secondary education and have participated in community service activities.

Students who apply for a scholarship must currently live in Union and have graduated from Union Elementary School. They are also required to be graduating or have graduated from a Union Board of Education approved high school.

Scholarship applications are available to eligible graduating high school seniors each spring. All eligible students who complete an application will receive a scholarship award. The U.S.A.S.F. Scholarship Committee takes into consideration student academic achievement, school activity, community involvement, student need to meet the cost of their chosen education program, and a submitted essay to determine scholarship awards. Eligible students can access the application for the Union Scholarship at

http://www.cfect.org/Scholarships/HowtoApplyforaScholarship/tabid/211/Default.aspx.

If a graduating high school student chooses to delay their opportunity to apply for the one time U.S.A.S.F. scholarship, the student has the obligation to contact the U.S.A.S.F. within two years of their high school graduation to request permission to apply.

The U.S.A.S.F. is affiliated with The Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut, a non-profit, charitable organization founded in 1982 by a small group of visionary community leaders. Today it is the geographically largest community foundation in Connecticut.

OUR EVENTS

Annual Giving Appeal - Since its inception in 1994 the U.S.A.S.F. has enjoyed generous support for its annual fall giving appeal from the citizens of Union, their families and friends, and past scholarship recipients. Donations can be made to one of our three funds: the General Fund, the John Geissler Memorial Fund, and the Jerry Baggish Fund. Donations can be made to the USASF, % Union Elementary School, 18 Kinney Hollow Road, Union, CT 06076.

Strides for Scholars 5K Road Race - Beginning in 2014 the U.S.A.S.F. has held its annual 5K road race. Runners and walkers are invited to participate in this fun, exciting event, which is currently held in April each year. For further information go to https://runsignup/Race/CT/Union/StridesForScholars.

SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

1995 - Jed	Upson	1996 -	Catherine Bocciarelli
7 101	in Bauer na Mihaliak Shemansky	1999 -	Amber D'Amico Jamie Rizner Laurie Shemansky
	es Bouffard y Gustafson ek Leffingwell	2001 -	Sara Emhoff Diana Graves Abbey Mihaliak Nicholas Murdock William Shemansky
2002 - Laur	a Friedrich	2003 -	Rachael Burkey Allison Emhoff Melanie Mihaliak
	mas Bradrick t Friedrich	2005 -	Zandra Bogar Laura Bradrick Jesse Trinque
2006 - Krist Kirst	in Geissler ie McQuaid	2007 -	Trisha Bogar Charlotte Holberry

2008 - Alyssa Geissler Ashley Jellen	2009 - Ray Shearer Stephanie Shearer
2010 - Jennifer Artruc Stephanie Jellen	2012 - Jacqueline Jolin
2013 - Jonathan Robertson	2014 - Mallory Pellerin Dylan Seekins
2015 - Shannon Huda Calvin Wentworth Jennifer Zeiger	2016 - Joshua Lambert Mikayla Jones
2017 - Alexandra Matthews	2018 - Caroline Eaton Connor Huda Abigail Lefemine
2019 - Ethan Adams Mackenzie Eaton Zachary Lambert Chloe Nolin Jessica Vennart	2020 - Avery Jones Kansas Sienna
2021 - Alexia Adams Andrew Johnson Ciara MacKinnon Olivia Ott Maria Santucci	2022 - Alison Bessette Nathan Gaug Summer Ko-Szych Jordan Sienna
2023 - Elizabeth Morgis.	2024 - Cade Jones

For more information on the U.S.A.S.F., please contact the Union Elementary School at 860-684-3146.